Claypots Evening Star in South Melbourne

After a long 2 hours and very disappointing walk to Dockland, I decided to head back towards the other side of the Yarra River – “the right side” as most Melbournian will tell you. That is the side of Southbank, South Gate and Crown, and not far behind theSouth Melbourne Market.

I was hungry and wanted to try something different. There are cafes and food outlets at South Melbourne Market. I decided on “Claypots Evening Star” or just “Claypots”. It is a casual bar seafood type place with live music, offering outdoor seatings and indoor bar stools type seatings. There was a live 3 piece band at the front of this little corner cafe when I got there. The ambience has a typical Melburnian’s feel. The band was folksy with some banjo and violin numbers.

20120318-182054.jpg

20120318-183529.jpg

20120318-183616.jpg

20120318-183705.jpg

The service was friendly and relax. The focus of the food is on the freshness of the seafood. I ordered a tapas grilled scampi ($7) and grilled skewer of octopus with onion and red capsicum ($10) and a grilled whole red mullet with salad ($15). I haven’t eaten grilled seafood for a long time. Claypots has certainly impressed me. My seafood – scampi, octopus and red mullet – were grilled just right with the sweetness and juice of the seafood flesh still intact. It was an enjoyable, lazy Sunday afternoon lunch listening to the live band before I headed into the market for some fresh produce grocery.

20120318-183826.jpg

20120318-183922.jpg

20120318-184024.jpg

20120318-184103.jpg

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Eating out in Melbourne and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

