In My Kitchen – Tau Cheong Chicken

Tau Cheong is salted soybean. Usually comes in a jar and can be bought at the Asian supermarket. It is made from soybean that has been salted and aged or preserved. It can be used in stir fry or braise and match well with chicken, pork and fish.

I have decided to use tau cheong to flavour my stir fry dish tonight with some free range chicken thigh fillets and Tasmanian organic purple garlics. The garlics were harvested by my friend in her garden in the picturesque Huon Valley. She gave some to me when I went back to Hobart last weekend for a visit. I was surprised her homegrown organic garlic had a mild and less pungent flavour than the supermarket purple garlic variety. In a way, it was good for me. Even though I had used more garlics in tonight’s cooking, it did not overpowered the main essence of my dish, which was the tau cheong.

20120206-214822.jpg

Ingredients
~ 4 chicken thigh fillets
~ 4 garlic cloves (I used 12 organic garlic cloves – they were very small)
~ use any firm vegetables to accompany the chicken (I used one carrot, one bunch of broccolini and a small can of mushrooms which I had in my cupboard)
~ 1 tablespoon tau cheong
~ 2 dried red chillies
~ 2 stalks spring onions
~ 1 tablespoon dark soy sauce

Preparation
~ slice the chicken thigh fillets lengthwise in small strip. Marinade with a sprinkle of salt, white pepper and a teaspoon light soy
~ chop all the garlic finely
~ break the dried chillies in small pieces
~ chop the vegetables into bite pieces
~ section part of the spring onions and chop remaining for garnishing

20120206-222813.jpg

Cooking
~ in a hot wok, add some vegetable cooking oil. Heat the oil until hot but not smoking
~ toss in the chicken. Stir fry for two minutes or until the chicken is almost half cooked. Remove and set aside
~ in the remaining oil, add garlic and chillies. Stir fry for a minute to release the flavour
~ add tau cheong. Stir fry for 30 seconds, then add the vegetables. Stir fry until the vegetables are almost cooked
~ toss back in the precooked chicken. Add dark soy sauce. Continue to stir fry until the chicken and vegetables are cooked. Sprinkle some cracked black pepper
~ dish and plate. Garnish with some chopped spring onions

20120206-225117.jpg

Preparation Time: 15 – 20 minutes
Cooking Time: 15 – 20 minutes
Eating Time: take your time and enjoy the meal!

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In My Kitchen – Tau Cheong Chicken

  1. Shirley says:

    love your cooking Victor! So simple and yet so delicious. Reminds me of the meals my mum cooks.

Leave a Comment

