In My Kitchen – 10 minutes Chinese Cabbage

20120119-211548.jpg

Trust me! The famous last word. But, it is true. It is Simple, Simple, Smple to make this 10 minutes vegetable dish with basic Chinese ingredients. I had some Chinese cabbage and spring onions left in the fridge. Before I left for work this morning, I soak some dried shiitake mushrooms in a bowl of water. That is all the pre-preparation required before I get home from work.

20120119-212340.jpg

Ingredients
~ some Chinese cabbage leaves
~ six dried shiitake mushrooms
~ three cloves garlic
~ one fresh red chili
~ four spring onions
~ some dried shallots

Sauces
~ one tablespoon fish sauce
~ two tablespoons oyster sauce
~ one tablespoon Chinese cooking wine
~ one teaspoon sesame oil

Preparation
~ slice the garlic into thin slices
~ slice the chili into thin slices
~ roughly slice the cabbage leaves about three to four inches apart
~ slice the spring onion about one cm apart
~ remove the presoaked dried mushrooms from the bowl of water. Discard the stem from the mushroom and slice into two halves

Cooking
~ heat some cooking oil in a hot wok
~ toss in garlic. Stir fry lightly until fragrant
~ add Chinese cabbage, then the mushroom with a bit of “mushroom water”. Then cover with lid for one minute to simmer
~ remove the lid and add the sauce mixture. Mix through and stir fry for another minute. Add a pimch of salt, sugar and a sprinkle of white pepper
~ add half a cup of corn starch mixture to thicken the sauce
~ now it is ready to plate and serve with a bowl of steamed rice. Garnish with lots of chopped spring onions and dried shallots

20120119-214133.jpg

Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 5 minutes
Eating Time: Alright! I eat fast and because it was so good, it only took me two minutes to finish my dinner. 🙂

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In My Kitchen – 10 minutes Chinese Cabbage

  1. Emily says:

    I can eat this dish everyday, it looks so good. You eat fast, just don’t choke on your food heh heh 🙂

  2. Emily says:

    LOL, living the good life, Victor.

  3. Philip Theobald says:

    Thank you Victor I shall make that one in our new home. We are moving back to Hemmerton where we were living when we first met you.

    Last night we went with five others to Huon’s Little Treasure for a Chinese New Year banquet. Mark presented:
    Sugar cane prawns
    Stuffed chicken wings
    Chili flathead
    Lemon Grass Chicken and vegetables
    Special Ice Cream and creme caramel.
    We had two bottles of Jantz and some had beers.
    The food was very good but a definite Vietnamese influence as you wold expect and they have brightened up the restaurant and it sparkled. A good start to the year of the dragon in Franklin but Melbourne will be much bigger.

    Cheers
    Philip

    • Victor says:

      Hi Phil,

      Thanks. I still can’t believe you and Bron have moved yet again! Ha ha. I guess we have moved again too! And, I will move again next month to a 2 bedrooms apartment in Southbank, before Steven moves here. I am back in Hobart next weekend. Don’t know if you are in Tassie or not.

      That sounds lovely at Mark & Ha’s place. The dishes sounds good too. Glad you all had a wonderful meal there. I love the Vietnamese sugarcane prawns! Must ask Ha to make me some. 🙂

      Cheers,
      Victor

Leave a Comment

