In My Kitchen – how to poach eggs for a simple and healthy breakfast

I am not much into making western food. Even when it comes to breakfast. I will make myself a simple toast with peanut butter and strawberry jam! Sounds very American, right? I got hooked on the peanut butter and jam when I studied and lived in US, with an American hosted family in the Arkansas. Every morning, my hosted mother will make me peanut butter and strawberry jam!

This morning, I decided to poached a couple of free range chicken eggs, served on top of mashed avocado on toasts. I bought the avocado at the supermarket yesterday. They are in season. Just ripped and still firm. Not squashy. This is a simple breakfast, but making a perfect poached eggs is not simple. It takes practice. This breakfast beats my peanut butter and strawberry jam any time. It is a better and healthier choice with none of those processed unhealthy fat, sugar and salt.

I cannot believe I am actually writing this post. It is simple. But, I guess simple is good for most people. Everyone has their own method of poaching an egg. Even scramble eggs for breakfast. I will come to that another time, because I still have not perfect my scrambled! Believe it or not.

I think I have only recently managed to poach the perfect egg. Please feel free to comment and let me know how you poach yours. Not with a poaching machine, like my good friend suggested to me in my Facebook! 🙂

20120108-111243.jpg

20120108-111322.jpg

How to poach a perfect egg
~ First, bring to a boil half a pot of water with a teaspoon of salt in a medium size non-stick pot
~ On boiling, add some white vinegar
~ While the water is boiling, break two eggs into a small bowl. One in each bowl
~ Lower the heat to simmer temperature
~ Slowly immerse one bowl of egg at a time into the boiled water
~ Gently stir the water. This should coagulate the egg white into a nice form wrapped around the egg yolk. Any loose unformed egg white will break away
~ It should only take two minutes for the poached egg to form nicely
~ Remove the poached eggs and let rest on a kitchen paper towel

At the mean time while I was waiting for the water to boil, I cut opened an avocado. Removed the seed. Then, used the back of a tablespoon to scoop out the avocado flesh from the skin. Next, gentlly mashed the avocado with the back of a fork, and spread over a toasted bread.

It should take only a few seconds for the poached eggs to drain the excess water on the kitchen paper towel. Toss the poached egg onto one of your palm and gently place on top of the mashed avocado. Sprinkle some sea salt and cracked black pepper.

Preparation and Cooking Time: 10 minutes
Eating Time: 2 minutes 🙂

20120108-112817.jpg

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In My Kitchen – how to poach eggs for a simple and healthy breakfast

  1. Rita says:

    I love poached eggs, Victor, and regularly make them for breakfast. I don’t add the vinegar to the water, although I know of some who do. I simply bring the water in the pot to the boil, swirl the water in a circular motion a few times with a spoon, then add my egg to the swirling water – thus ensuring it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan, as it does if you just pop the egg in the boiling water then leave it to cook! I like mine with the white cooked but the yellow runny, so when it reaches that stage I take it out (usually around 2 minutes). I also swirl the water occasionally just to make sure the egg is not settling and sticking!
    With my Thermomix I can be making a hollandaise sauce at the same time, so can serve my egg on toast with hollandaise, and a slice of smoked salmon too if I have it in the fridge.
    I have tried poaching the egg as I have seen others do, by lining a teacup with plastic wrap, then breaking the egg into it, gently lifting out the egg contained in the plastic wrap then lowering it slowly into boiling water – hence achieving a lovely rounded and symmetrical shape, but am not fussed by that method and am just as happy using my old, tried and true ‘chuck it in the pot of boiling water’ method!

    • Victor says:

      Hi Rita, thanks or sharing. I have tried your method of swirling the hot, boiling water before lowering the eggs. But, I guess I had swirled the water too fast, and my eggs were swirling so fast that I felt dizzy! LOL.
      Oh, I like the other method using teacup and plastic wrap. I must try that next time. Thanks, Rita.
      You are a real Thermomixan, ain’t you? 🙂

Leave a Comment

