2012 – Happy, Happy New Year!

2012! Wasn’t it a movie? Hollywood! Major disaster – earthquake, tsunami, America…. The end of the world. I thought that was a good movie. Forget the story. Just watched the special effects and John Cusack. The movie was released in 2009. Now, three years later, we woke up to 1/1/12. Time flies.

I spent last night on the last day of 2011 cooking for friends. It was a very special night. I promised our close friends, Helen and Ted, that I will come to their house and cooked for them and three of their closest friends visiting from country Victoria. I promised an eight course dinner and crafted my menu for an enjoyable last meal to end 2011.

20120101-093234.jpg

It was a good night. I thought I would be extremely exhausted by the end of the day after spending two days in the kitchen. Started off making some of the preparation at home, and pre-cooked the “Jiu Hu Char”, “Tau Eu Bak”, and “Kari Kay”. The other dishes I cooked in Helen’s lovely kitchen. I used as much local produce as I can get my hands on – including, Tasmanian Abalone and Huon River Breams.

20120101-093958.jpg

I had some help in the kitchen from Helen and Lynn – folding the pork and prawn dumplings, and with cleaning the dishes. I showed them how to prepare the dumplings and “San Choy Pow”. A bit of a cooking demonstration. It was fun. The dumplings were poached in Helen’s homemade chicken consomme.

20120101-094718.jpg

The second course was “San Choy Pow”.

20120101-094944.jpg

The third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh courses had to be executed at the same time and served as a communal style dining, where everyone get to share all the five dishes. That, to me, was the challenge and highlight of the evening and the flavours of all the five dishes must harmoniously come together for a wholesome experience of my food. I watched my friends’ face when they ate my food. The expressions on their happy faces tell me more than their words, showering with praises and compliments. I felt satisfied and happy that I was able to share my love and happiness through food, which was a great way to end my year of 2011.

20120101-100911.jpg

20120101-101016.jpg

20120101-101120.jpg

20120101-101239.jpg

20120101-101311.jpg

20120101-101450.jpg

20120101-101552.jpg

And, the final eighth course. A small tasting dessert of “Sago Gula Melaka”.

20120101-101850.jpg

Fish is symbolic to Chinese. They symbolice an abundance of wealth and prosperity. The two fish on the plate signifies double of everything. Wishing all of you a year of 2012 filled with good health, happiness and lots of wealth and prosperity.

20120101-102934.jpg

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking, Whisper..news and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2012 – Happy, Happy New Year!

  1. Dillon says:

    Lovely celebration V. Thanks for sharing. Where did you get your Abs from?
    cheers
    Dillon

  2. Victor says:

    Thanks, Dillon. Ted helped another neighbour, who is a commercial fisherman. We were neighbours previously when we lived in the Huon Valley. I believed his commercial fishing boat was moored somewhere in Southport and that was where they did most of their fishing – south, where the water is fresh and pristine, and cold. I have never been out with them even when asked. One too early, and two too cold! So, the abs were provided by Ted.

  3. Shirley says:

    Wow great meal Victor!! All so yummy 🙂

Leave a Comment

