A Prayer in My Heart – Christmas

I wished everyone had a lovely and great Christmas Day.

Christmas time means different things to different people. For me, it is a remembrance day of my father who passed away 5 years ago, and a day of exchanging small gifts with my partner.

This year we were invited to our close friends’ Christmas lunch with their small family of 5 members. This was the fourth time we have spent Christmas with our friends, Helen and Ted, who are like our adopted parents. We left their place not empty handed either. Ted gave us two fresh breams and salmon which he caught in the morning, and a bag of at least 4 kg cherries. We had a wonderful time with them and made most of it inspite of our personal circumstances of loosing Bonnie.

Flashback to this trip. I was looking forward to a happy Christmas and New Year break to Hobart. But, things changed. On 11th December 2011, I had to rush home to see Bonnie for the last time, whose health had suddenly deteriorated rapidly.

Christmas day and my two weeks coming home to Hobart is a sad trip without Bonnie. She has been with us for 14 years and was part of us. I never knew it would be this hard until I personally had to go through myself. I know over time, this will heal but never forgotten.

I like to share the short note that was sent to us by Bonnie’s vet. It is a lovely message, which I hope for those who is or will be going through a similar experience will know what we did was the right thing for our dearest Bonnie.

A Pet Prayer

If it should be that I grow frail and weak, and pain should keep me from my sleep, then you must do what must be done, for this last battle cannot be won.

You will be sad, I understand. Don’t let your grief stay in you. For this day, more than all the rest, your love and friendship stand the test.

We have had so many good and happy years. What is to come can hold no fears. You had not want me to suffer. So, when the time comes, please let me go.

Take me where my needs they will tend. Only stay with me right to the end and hold me firm and speak to me, until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time, you will see, it is kindness you do to me. Although my tail its last was waved, from pain and suffering I have been saved.

Don’t grieve. We have been close over these years. Don’t let your heart hold any tears.

Smile…for we walked together for a little while.

Bonnie passed away on the 12th December, 2011.

My partner and I spent a few minutes of silence at home with Bonnie for the last time on the morning of Boxing Day.

20111226-212753.jpg

It was time. We both agreed we had to take Bonnie’s ashes and laid her to rest at her favourite beach – Randalls Bay, nearby where we used to live. We had a good and happy 7 years living at Lower Wattle Grove with Bonnie and that was the best time of her life, where we got to take her to the beach and see her take off like a little puppy again. Bonnie always looked happy with a big grin on her face when she was there. It felt right that we put her ashes there.

When we arrived at Randalls Bay, it felt peaceful and calm. Almost surreal. The sky was blue with patches of soft white clouds. The sand was clean, soft and warm. The sea was gentle with light, gentle waves crashing onto the shore.

20111226-223441.jpg

20111226-223602.jpg

20111226-223639.jpg

It was time. Time to let go and find the perfect resting spot for Bonnie. It was hard. Extremely hard and tiring. Tears rolled down our eyes uncontrollably. We each had Bonnie’s ashes in our hand and let it go. We cried and hugged each other. We waved goodbye and sat down for a few minutes of silence before we departed.

20111226-224042.jpg

20111226-224131.jpg

Merry Christmas, My Beloved Bonnie.

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Whisper..news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Prayer in My Heart – Christmas

  1. Philip Theobald says:

    Hi Victor
    What a wonderful post. We have been thinking of you and Steven after the loss of Bonnie. We felt so sorry to hear of it and your pictures and thoughts of Randalls Bay were so sensitive and thoughtful.
    We received a message from you last night but we are presently in the UK with our daughter and won’t be back until 7 January so won’t be able to join you for lunch and Bron lost her phone today at the British Museum so the only way to contact us is by e-mail to me or phone to me on my mobile. If you e-mail me I’ll send back my mobile number and Freddie’s.

    Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to you both and looking forward to catching up in Melbourne or Tassie in 2012.

    • Victor says:

      Hi Phil, good to hear from you. Thanks re Bonnie. So strange. I have just sent Bron an email before I read your message here. Another strange thing. I have also lost my mobile on our last trip, in Paris! I will send you an email. Have a great time in UK. Cheers, Victor.

Leave a Comment

