In My Kitchen – Inoki Mushrooms in Garlic Ginger Sauce

Oh my gosh! My little unit smells of garlic! But, very happy with my simple dinner tonight. Inoki and oyster mushrooms with chicken in garlic ginger sauce.

20111024-193557.jpg

I was at Richmond last Saturday. An inner city suburb of Melbourne popular with Vietnamese restaurants, Asian supermarkets and Asian butchers. I went into one of the bigger Asian supermarket to see what I can get. I saw the packets of Inoki mushroom on special for only $1.99. It was a big packet as well. So cheap that I had to take home one packet and have a go at cooking them.

It is a simple recipe. I mixed the Inoki with another type of mushrooms that I bought from the same supermarket.

20111024-193648.jpg

Ingredients:
~ 1 small packet Inoki mushroom
~ 1 small packet oyster mushroom
~ 1 piece chicken thigh fillet
~ 4 cloves garlic
~ 1 small piece ginger

Sauces:
~ 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
~ 3 tablespoons oyster sauce
~ 1 tablespoon Chinese cooking wine
~ 1 teaspoon sesame oil
~ 2 tablespoon Chinese black vinegar

Preparation:
1. Dice the chicken into bite pieces
2. Chop garlic finely
3. Slice ginger into thin slices

Cooking:
1. Heat some vegetable cooking oil in a hot wok
2. Toss in chopped garlic. Fry until fragrant
3. Add chicken pieces. Fry until cooked
4. Add ginger slices. Mix through and quick stir fry for less than 1 minute
5. Add mushrooms. Mix through and continue to stir fry until mushrooms are almost cooked
6. Add all the sauces
7. Add 1/2 tablespoon of corn starch mixed in water
8. Lower the heat. Continue to stir fry for 1 minute until gravy thickens
9. Remove and serve with steamed rice

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In My Kitchen – Inoki Mushrooms in Garlic Ginger Sauce

  1. Emily L says:

    Victor, I like this recipe, better than the less than satisfactory food you’d at Mamak. I don’t like Inoki mushrooms however because there is no bite to it, I prefer the other mushroom. How does the black vinegar add flavour to the dish? I’ve never used it before.

    • Victor says:

      Hi Emily, make sure you use Chinese black vinegar for cooking. I used the Chinkiang brand. It is good for braised dishes and combined well with dried chilies for Sichuan style cooking. It helps cut through the other flavours better. Don’t use too much unless you like your dish very vinegary.

  2. Emily L says:

    Thanks, Victor, I’ll buy a small bottle (if I can find one) and try it out.

Leave a Comment

