In My Kitchen – Lamb Fillets with Fresh Mushrooms

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On my way home today from work, I stopped at Hill Street Grocer in New Town. It is becoming a regular habit of mine. It is convenient. The shop is right at the corner of my turnoff from New Town Road into Augusta Road to get home. It is a “drive through” grocer for me, and I LOVE it!

Usual same old, same old question coming from my partner after I picked him up from work. “What’s for dinner?”

I said I don’t know. How about we get home first, then decide. Friday after a long busy week for me. It has been a very stressful week for me, since last week and will be for the next few weeks with my project going live.

Anyway, as I drove past New Town main street, my partner hailed, “stop at Hill Street!” for him to get a bottle of wine. Hill Street grocer is in the next building to a bottle shop, 7/11. This is the best thing for the locals that lived in the area because of its prime corner location at the main intersection of New Town Road and Augusta Road. The bottle shop traffic has increased by several folds since Hill Street opened its business next door about a month ago.

My partner went in to get his wine. Not just one, but came out with 2! I was in Hill Street wondering what I should cook for tonight. I have to say this, if you live in New Town area, this is the best place to buy your fresh meat. I only buy what I think looks best in the shop. Tonight – it was the lamb fillets. They were so beautiful – rich in colour and still red. It was not cheap, but it was a premium cut meat. I bought 4 pieces from Nick, the owner. A very passionate man and really love his work and business. He and his family have done extremely well, to carve a niche market with the middle and upper income families and professionals. Their price here was not cheap but you pay for what you get. It is the quality of the produce and personal service that draws me back to Hill Street each time.

I thought I will do a stir fry. I looked around for some vegetables to go with my lamb fillets. I was surprised to see a freshly packed Chinese shiitake mushrooms (from China, packed and distributed by a Sydney company). I have never used or cooked fresh Chinese shiitake mushrooms here, mainly because it is not easy to find. Usually dried in a packet. So fresh was good. I bought the normal white mushrooms as well, a tomato and a packet of fresh sugar snaps.

This recipe is simple to replicate at home for anyone.

Ingredients

4 strips lamb fillets

1 tomato for garnishing

3 cloves garlic

1/2 red onion

1 inch ginger

1 bird eye chili

4 white mushrooms

8-10 fresh Chinese shiitake mushrooms

1 packet (10-20) sugar snaps

 Sauce

2 tablespoon fish sauce

2 tablespoon oyster sauce

1 teaspoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon Chinese cooking wine

2 tablespoons Chinese black vinegar

Preparation

1. Sliced the lamb fillets into finely thin slices. Then marinate with 1 egg white, 1/2 teaspoon fish sauce, 1/2 teaspoon oyster sauce and a pinch of white ground white pepper.

2. Chopped garlic finely, 1 bird eye chili and thinly sliced the ginger.

3. Removed the stem of Chinese shiitake mushrooms. Cut the white mushrooms into quarter.

4. Sliced the tomato thinly for garnishing on the plate.

Cooking

1. Heat a cup of oil in a hot wok.

2. Tossed in marinated lamb pieces. Stir fry quickly and removed.

3. Add chopped garlic and chili in the wok. Stir fry until fragrant.

4. Add the mushrooms and sugar snaps.

5. Add the sauces, then tossed in the almost cooked lamb fillets.

6. Add a bit of seasoning – salt and sugar to taste.

7. Remove and plate the dish. Serve with steamed rice.

About Victor

I live in Melbourne. Blogging as a pleasure. Sharing my thoughts, mostly on food and places I find interesting. I am on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook Page which you can follow by clicking on the link on my blog page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Home Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In My Kitchen – Lamb Fillets with Fresh Mushrooms

  1. Nye says:

    I have never tried lamb meat before, does it taste anything like beef? The dish looks delicious, with wine and all, it’s definitely a feast. 🙂

    • Victor says:

      Thanks Nye. Some people may not like lamb stir fry that much because lamb meat has a stronger flavor and smell than beef. But if it is a good quality cut, it should not smell that much and still fresh and delicate. Don’t cook too long so it’s still tender. Goes well with Chinese black vinegar.

Leave a Comment

